What is Kosher Certification?
Contrary to popular belief, there’s a lot more to kosher food than bagels and deli. Even the most gourmet or exotic foods – from truffle oil to chipotle hot sauce – can often be certified as kosher. Here at Crafted Kosher, we make sure that all of our products carry the highest standards of kosher certification.
Let’s dispel a couple of kosher myths here
No, “kosher” does not mean that the product has been blessed by a Rabbi. And no, you cannot tell if a packaged item is kosher by simply scanning through the list of ingredients. A kosher-certified food is a food that has been carefully screened to ensure that it meets detailed kosher specifications throughout the entire production process. But what could be non-kosher in a pack of organic bubble gum or a jar of jam? Surprisingly, quite a lot. Many packaged products today contain coloring agents, preservatives, and other additives that can actually come from non-kosher sources.
Take a look at a couple of examples:
- The red food dye carmine is derived from the crushed carcass of a cochineal beetle.
- The additive castoreum, which is used in many gourmet vanilla or berry-flavored products, is secreted from sacs near a beaver’s pelvis.
- The additive civet absolute, which can be used to give candies a caramel or rum flavor, is actually scraped from the anus of an African civet cat.